Skip to content

Darker than Black – Ryuusei no Gemini 01 : Stardust

October 12, 2009

snapshot20091011172031Go, and catch a falling star,
Get with child a mandrake root,
Tell me, where all past years are,
Or who cleft the Devil’s foot,
Teach me to hear mermaids singing,
Or to keep off envy’s stinging,
And find
What wind
Serves to advance an honest mind.*

It all starts with a meteor.

snapshot20091012210858and cute twins with hats

They say a falling star means someone has died. In their case, it seems it also means someone is born anew. This is the night Suou’s twin brother becomes a Contractor…

Two years later, Suou lives a fairly normal life in Vladivostok. But what do we have ? MI-6 Contractors hanging out in bars ?

snapshot20091011171949a new one, nice to meet you, Whisky guy

That doesn’t stop our lively girl sneaking pictures of her friends Tanya and Nika during a particularly meaningful and sweet moment, and fail to convey any of its beauty to her now heartless brother.

snapshot20091011172247the enthusiastic approach…

snapshot20091011172356vs. the realistic approach to love

snapshot20091011172411dream is the word

But your world can change overnight. Adorable blushing girls can suddenly become capable of pest control and incapable of emotions.

snapshot20091011172630wow, not so cute and happy anymore

Tanya leaves in an army truck towards her new fate, leaving behind a fairly distraught Suou. Unfortunately, this is only the beginning. Upon coming home, Suou finds herself running away from Special Ops, hearing her brother telepathically, finding her father dead on the floor, and caught up in a Contractor fight.

snapshot20091011173019miss !

April, who was working undercover at Suou and Shion’s dad’s lab, ice-shrapnels an unknown guy. Something seems to be the matter with Shion. He’s the “core of the meteor”, or so Suou heard the guy interrogating her dad say before killing him. What guy ? Adult. Asian. Wearing a mask. Now that rings a bell, doesn’t it, April ?

snapshot20091011173111and if it wasn’t enough, you’d recognize that cable anytime…

snapshot20091011173202uh oh, looks like Yin has not been taking good care of you lately

Another star falls. April is dead. Shion is missing, voluntarily. Suou stands in the snowy woods. So does BK201.

Impressions :

This show has actually made me write another post when I was thinking about leaving this blog to wither quietly away. Darker than Black is one of my favorites, which are the ones that don’t simply fall into the “it’s fun/it’s stupid/it’s got giant robots” categories (I am weak that way, you may have noticed). It just glues me to my screen. It makes me think, sometimes feel, drool over background art or fighting scenes. The first episode did all that at once. So now I wait, and hope.

*John Donne, from the opening of Stardust by Neil Gaiman

6 Comments leave one →
  1. poisonousbookworm permalink
    October 14, 2009 08:36

    Ha ha…a blog is difficult to maintain, right? to be honest, there are big chances that I will let my blog die as well without finishing posting about our trip to Japan – I have had absolutely no reader except you so what’s the point…?

  2. October 14, 2009 11:46

    There is something called “time” that runs scarcer every year 😀 and you know me, once the novelty wears off… I’ll try to reach the one-year anniversary, we shall see !
    Hey, I’m a very important reader, don’t take me lightly 😛

  3. October 15, 2009 00:25

    I always wonder why I come around, but I always check your updates (I see them on my own blog), and I’m never disapointed. Sandoute because you write about stuff that I didn’t enven know existed… except wacky robot model kits œuf corse. And also bicoz I know that you’ll understand my way to write in english…
    Keep on truckin’

    And to the Worm, dont worry your honour, I sometime go to yours, sometime.

  4. October 15, 2009 05:13

    Interesting music in this show. Also, since Square Enix is involved, it will be auto-win based on the past records. Like they said, making a good anime is easy: find a target audience (let’s say fujoshi), then find appropriate manga (Kuroshitsuji), then choose an appropriate studio (writer who likes to tame puppies + awesome director), and there you have it – awesome anime with tons of profit 😛

  5. October 15, 2009 18:53

    @Alx : Thanks for the encouragements and the visits, I am contente to hear you discover new things here ! And your english iz very goude and enjoyabeule 😀

    @Kitsune : I’m a bit disappointed it’s not Yoko Kanno anymore (*insert fangirl here*), but I’ll get over it.
    So true ! it reminds me of this hilarious parody on how Luc Besson creates the screenplays for Europa Corp’s big hits… unfortunately not with Square Enix’ quality and success 😀 (sorry, it’s in French)

  6. November 10, 2011 12:31

    I’m amused by the title of your blog. Flying Teapot happens to be one of my favorite Cowboy Bebop song. I hope we can uhm… connect through our blogs. You can visit my boring site as well. (^___^) Be coming back…

    Kotae no nai mainichi ga
    Tada sugite yuku jikan ga
    Kore kara saki dou naru no darou
    Wakaranai…
    Tsukiakari no Michishirube…

Leave a Reply

