Skip to content

Sentimi, non partir

September 17, 2009

Not updating much, I see ! Well, not watching much either.
Then I will do with what I have, and what I have been showed.
Want to follow me into the realm of music ?..

250px-Johann_Christian_Bach
It seems part of my family still hasn’t given up on me and try again and again to educate me about music. I am a willing pupil, I am just not very gifted (and hard-working).
Last night, the lesson was “Discover Johann Christian Bach” (1735-1782). Last son of good ol’ J.S, spent his time between Germany, Italy and England, composing operas and influencing a young brat named Mozart along the way.
Granted, the conditions were optimal.

Concert at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées (Exhibit 1)
ParisTheatreDesChampsElyseesInterior
with Philippe Jaroussky (Exhibit 2)
bbca420e-b3a1-11dc-ae11-5c07e4644e40
and the young up-and-coming marvelous orchestra everyone in the world should know by now, Le Cercle de l’Harmonie (Exhibit 3).
orchestre
Been there, heard them live before and loved it. Optimal, I said.
Except I was dead tired and afraid to fall asleep on the spot. I know I would have to endure pitying glances at family reunions for a while if I did that (sadly, it happened before), so the stakes were high.
The plan was to stay awake through this :
Jean-Chrétien Bach : « Vo solcando un mar crudele » (Artaserse, scena ultima, aria di Arbace, 1760)
Récitatif et rondeau « Sentimi non partir… Al mio bene a lei che adoro » (1779, pour M.Tenducci)
Haydn : Concerto pour violon et cordes en sol majeur Hob VIIa : 4
Jean-Chrétien Bach : Récitatif « Perfida Cartismandua » et cavatine « Tra l’orror » (Carattaco, acte 2, sc. 1, cavatine di Caratacco, 1767)
Air « Pugna il guerrier » (La Clemenza di Scipione, 1778)
Air « Cara, la dolce fiamma » (Adriano in Siria, aria di Farnaspe, 1778)
Symphonie en sol mineur opus 6 n°6
Récitatif et rondeau « Ebben si vada…Io ti lascio » (vers 1778, rondeau favori de M. Tenducci)
Air « Ch’io parta ? » (Temistocle, aria di Lisimaco,1772)

And you know what ?

I DID !

It was enthralling and beautiful. I am no judge, but my dad is, and the way he (among others) was applauding and shouting “BRAVO !!!” confirm it was exceptional. But why am I telling this interesting tale of “How I Spent Yesterday Evening” ?

Because there will be a CD to buy !

52584a0afde13d80Hehe I guess advertising is not beyond me…I hope it doesn’t show :-°

It will be out on November 2, and available online as soon as September 28 !

If you want some samples, you can listen to the singer here and the orchestra here (performing other pieces of music).

Thank you for bearing with me and I hope you will like it !

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

