Skip to content

Sweet mornings

August 15, 2009

So you have a model to build. You know you’re clumsy and probably not patient enough. What to do ?
Wait for an opportunity to have a meticulous patient friend who actually likes buildings things around. And some other friends too, so that you can provide easy entertainment.
Even if you have to drag your toy around for over 1200 km (return included). And I’m not couting the travel from Japan. (I just had to buy it. I had to. Never go to Akiba.)
My eternal thanks to poisonousbookworm for building 98% of the thing, to Tsubame for providing her sunny beautiful place, to Francis for making so few snide comments along the way, and to the fifth guest to this party for his appreciation of the finished chef d’oeuvre ! !
And to the stray cat for not caring enough to eat the pieces.
Pictures Pictures Pictures ! With a special guest you may recognize.DSCF1500DSCF1523DSCF1527DSCF1505DSCF1508DSCF1532DSCF1541DSCF1545DSCF1546DSCF1547

now it’s finally come home…

DSCF1573

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 22:07

    haha Sounds like your vacation was fun 🙂

    Cute guest you had there 🙂 I like the view on the sunshine picture 🙂

    Oh, that’s a nice collection 🙂

    Never constructed such models, but I bet they are more challenging than Ikea 😛

  2. August 16, 2009 10:19

    The best way to have fun is to be with the right people !

    Then, FYI, you like little medieval villages in the south of France 🙂

    Yeah, they’re way more challenging than Ikea but at the same time the plans are much more detailed and precise. We did put some pieces the wrong way sometimes, but that was solved without having to tear the whole thing apart. It’s really well-conceived and everything fits. Still, I don’t think I’d have finished it by myself 😀

  3. August 16, 2009 14:13

    Belle prise ! How much parts does it use ?

    Another 30 years of work and he shall have a home of his own (if you follow my method).

    And don’t forget to keep all boxes & papers that went with it, if you wish to sell it in 35 years !

  4. August 16, 2009 20:07

    Merci ! I honestly don’t know, it’s probably written somewhere between a stream of Kanji I can’t read, but approximately, 150 ?

    I’ll think about the home, 30 years does seem to give me enough time !

    I kept everything, I still hope that someday I’ll be able to RTFM instead of guessing based on the drawings and discover we’ve done it all wrong 😀

  5. August 17, 2009 23:58

    RTFM ?
    Read The F*#§¡%g Mode d’emploi ?

  6. August 18, 2009 00:41

    Précisément 🙂

Leave a Reply

