Skip to content

This is where I’ll live when I grow up

July 2, 2009
tags: ,

Himeji Castle. Built between 1333 and 1615, this is the only Japanese castle which hasn’t been destroyed and rebuilt in ferroconcrete. It’s still stone and wood. And marvelous wooden floors.The main dongeon is 6 stories high with narrow slippery stairs, with arrow holes, trap doors behind which samurai waited, weapons racks, and all that jazz. Tiles are engraved with the family crests of everyone that lorded over the area. Complete with shrine and suicide quarters.

So, where do I sign ?

321325326339341342345349352354357360

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tsubame permalink
    July 5, 2009 11:17

    The more I see the pictures you took, the more I hate you !!! (just kidding).

    Next time, bring me to Japan with you please :-D!!!

  2. July 5, 2009 20:43

    I know how it feels, no worries !

    And yes I will (I know you won’t forgive me twice :D)

  3. July 7, 2009 06:46

    Indeed, that would be a nice place to live in, but, even if I had such a chance for some reason, I would not be able to do it because, just like a precious book, I wouldn’t want to damage it.

    They even have suicide quarters… Oh my…

    This castle looks familiar to me because it was used in Kurosawa’s Kagemusha and Ran, among other things ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great photographs, as always ๐Ÿ™‚ By observing them, one can begin to feel the incommunicable aura of the place, but, of course, one has to visit the castle to fully appreciate it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. July 7, 2009 20:10

    Living in it wouldn’t be so much worse than the hords of tourists going through there every year ๐Ÿ˜€

    It’s quite the famous view indeed !

    I’ve been told it’s going to be under repair starting September for the next five years, I’m not sure it’s true but just in case, don’t rush ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. July 8, 2009 21:36

    haha That’s a good point about tourists vs a family ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ah, sounds like you visited the place just at the right time. Five years is a good period though – gives me time to finish my education and learn Japanese well ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. July 8, 2009 22:04

    I sure hope for you you’ll be done in five years ! Don’t worry much about the learning Japanese well part, a mix of English/Japanese/sign language/even sometimes French will get you almost anything anywhere ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

