Skip to content

Spaceships on the big screen

May 21, 2009
tags:

…basically the reason why I went to see Star Trek, given that I only have vague knowledge of its universe (and also because hearsay and critics gave it a green light, I do have standards).

ST5I mean, look at that beauty

There is one certainty : whatever the reality, whatever the universe, whoever tries to mess with the space-time continuum, James Kirk will always be captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise 😀 (and you seriously can’t call that a spoiler, now, can you ?)

star-trek-moviecrew of the U.S.S. Enterprise, year of 2009

Verdict : Good for noobs. I knew enough to recognize the names, and elbow my neighbour frantically hissing “it’s Leonard Nimoy !!!!!!!” on cue. I also sniggered at “live long and prosper” but that was from remembering the Big Bang Theory and Sheldon’s “all I need is a healthy ovum and I can grow my own Leonard Nimoy !?!”. And you don’t even need to know that much.

So, it was quite entertaining. The villains looked indeed quite cliché, as I read elsewhere, with all the grimdark tatoos, grimdark ship and dramatic revenge. But, well, it’s also part of the fun.

And, well, Chekov, McCoy and Scotty made me laugh.

I’ll leave you with a thought to ponder (Internet is full of wonders to ponder) :

celebrity-pictures-winona-ryder-spocks-mom

2 Comments leave one →
  1. poisonousbookworm permalink
    May 21, 2009 20:58

    Am I just tired or stupid? I do not get theWinona Ryder thingie…

  2. May 21, 2009 21:16

    Don’t leave openings like that, too tempting…
    Well, we probably aren’t the targeted age group, but just think about it. Winona Ryder is still young ! Not a 20-something Spock’s mom ! Even with make-up !

Leave a Reply

