Skip to content

“…and then I lost an arm and became a state alchemist”

April 13, 2009

snapshot20090413193358Already by Episode 2 ??? This isn’t fast, it’s lightning fast !

Edward Elric, 5th grade, subject : “What I did on my holidays”.

“I was fooling around with my younger bro in my dad’s study, reading books, when our mother came in. We showed her we could use alchemy, and she didn’t scold us ! She was so proud. Why did she have to say that we took after Dad, I’d rather not think about it. He’s a jerk. Our mother is a saint. But Heaven wasn’t on our side, for she had to die soon after. This was so unfair. Well, I’m not one to sit quietly and hold back. Al and I just had to get to work and revive her, human transmutation may be taboo but it was not my problem. We found a master, we worked hard, and when we came back, we were ready to do some badass alchemy. We got the recipe, the ingredients, and BAM !

Everything went wrong.

I saw the Door. I saw the Truth, one leg’s worth of it anyway. I lost my brother. I traded his soul for my arm. I affixed it in the nearest armor. But I had seen it. What I created. The horrible… thing… that was supposed to be my mother. He saw it too. That cocky moron Mustang. He still wanted to hire me. So I got the best automails you can get from the Rockbells and passed their stupid test with flying colors. I’m the Fullmetal Alchemist now, and I’m on my way to get everything back. Just watch me.”

snapshot20090413191054This was my house, before…

snapshot200904131911371Al is always the voice of reason, but I’m the older one, sometimes I just don’t listen.

snapshot20090413194135This is our master. You don’t want to mess with her. Really. We’re in trouble now.

snapshot20090413191502At that time we still thought we were on top of it…

snapshot20090413192944But despite everything, I’m still 12.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 20:17

    – Maybe it is a characteristic of some new series and the type of CG used, but it seems the characters stand out from the backgrounds too much. This is especially evident in Konnichiwa Anne. The same holds for FMA, but to a lesser degree.

    – This episode was a bit too dense in events and felt a little rushed

    – Panning was abused in this episode

    – No Lust in this episode ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. April 15, 2009 09:29

    – True. Still it’s not as bad as Mahdi’s shuttle versus a full-scale Tytania battleship ๐Ÿ˜€

    – Yup they tried to reach Mach 3 with this episode. They did cram several episodes’ worth of info. But on the other hand, they’re counting on an audience who knows what happened and are way more interested in what’s next and what will be different from the previous series. So, I agree, but I don’t mind much.

    – Yes, but there’ movement at least ๐Ÿ˜€ I’d take that over still motion shots of animated streets with background noise I’ve seen in too many shows.

    – There, there, she’ll come back soon.

    Bottom line is : no one can spoil my fun ๐Ÿ˜€
    (but you’re still welcome to point out the flaws I don’t want to see of course)

  3. April 15, 2009 13:23

    – haha That 2D vs 3D was fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    – It does seem like the second series assumes that most of the viewers are familiar with manga or first anime. That’s a reasonable assumption though.

    – Oh, those still shots with background… I have not seen one in a while actually.

    I am sorry if my comment appeared too negative. I just wanted to share my view on the show.

  4. April 15, 2009 16:15

    No, no, no, au contraire, don’t be sorry for being right !

    I enjoyed trying to find poor excuses to justify my blind fangirl love ๐Ÿ˜€
    (saying that it’s worse elsewhere is one hell of a point to make, I know it)

    Freedom of speech is a concept known to (and highly enjoyed by) French people too ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

