Skip to content

Ponyo, Ponyo, Ponyo sakana no ko

April 9, 2009

190633331

For me, there is little more to say than “it was really cute !” but I will try anyway.

My first thought is, it’s definitely a movie for kids. Take your own or your little brother/sister/nephew/niece to see it, they’ll just love it. But if you’re waiting for something more, you’ll probably get disappointed.

There isn’t a lot of background or message like you could see in former movies. Yes, there is a bit about protecting the oceans, but it’s not really emphasized. The trawling boat bit was scarily accurate though.

Otherwise, it’s the little mermaid myth with a bit of Miyazaki Magic. And a Totoro reference that I just love and almost made me sing out loud.

Also, one of my friends pointed out that Ponyo’s dad looks like Albator. It’s a bit far-fetched but it made me laugh so I’m sharing.

Still, it’s definitely, completely and maddeningly cute.

Now if you want to have a little song stuck in your head for years to come :
Ponyo Ponyo Ponyo sakana no ko…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

