Skip to content

It did take two years

March 21, 2009

19056204

But I’m glad I waited enough to see it on the big screen. I didn’t even plan it, I was pleasantly suprised it got a theatre release here. I was lucky enough to live not so far from one of the five theatres in the whole country who did release it, so I managed to recruit a couple of geeks friends to go see it.

Evangelion is part of my personal Holy Trinity (a.k.a. The Three Animes That Started It All) so I used to want to keep my original experience intact and thus stuck to the good ol’ TV series. However, the idea of Evas on a big screen with good sound lured me out of my conservative stance.

Gaaaaaaawwww.

It was all there and yet different. Unit 01 glowed bright green in the dark, the angels exploded in a sea of blood, Shinji was a little less annoying… and it looked so damn beautiful too. Music was awesome. Misato was pure win. One of my friends pointed out that it felt a bit rushed (“let’s just copypaste this scene, then jump to this one, and add this new bit in between”) but as the other said, in doing so they cut quite a bit of Shinji emo crap out, which is good. I agree with the second statement. We’re also getting more details about the background (Seele, Lilith, the Plan, etc.). All in all, I still like the TV series as it is but I also like the changes they made for this movie. Next, please.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go watch the entire TV series. Again. I’ll leave you with the official poster.

19063283

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2009 22:32

    Sounds like you had fun watching the movie ๐Ÿ™‚ Take breaks from watching the series and don’t forget to blink ๐Ÿ˜›

    That’s a beautiful poster there ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. March 22, 2009 09:31

    Don’t worry, thankfully Real Life is calling me out today and I have to answer ๐Ÿ˜€

    I agree, I’ll probably buy it if I can find it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

