Skip to content

The Graveyard Book

January 13, 2009

“Once you’re dead, it’s gone. Over. You’ve made what you’ve made, dreamed your dream, written your name. You may be buried here, you may even walk. But that potential is over.”

9780060530921

When he heard noise in the house, the baby woke up and decided to go out. An act that would save his life and bring him to the most eerie yet safest place for him. The old graveyard on the hill.

Watch Nobody Owens grow up, walk in the world of the dead and mythical creatures, go to school, argue with his adoptive ghost parents and mysterious guardian, and dread the day the man Jack comes to finish his task…

http://www.thegraveyardbook.co.uk/

Neil Gaiman knows how to tell a story, anyone who read any of his works would say the same. This book is no exception. Every chapter is written like a short story, each developing an aspect of the story, be it character or surroundings, everything coming together neatly at the end. But I think that what got me the most is how true everything is. Chidhood, feelings, even the everyday life of a graveyard. I don’t want to dwell on it too much because I would loathe to spoil anything, should you read it later.

Damn, the English know how to write children’s fiction.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. poison_key permalink
    January 14, 2009 07:36

    I’ll have to try it, thanks for the recommendation!

  2. dohrnaira permalink*
    January 14, 2009 19:27

    You know sometimes I get the feeling I’m writing this blog just for your sake 😀
    Not that I mind. Anytime !

  3. Tsubame permalink
    January 16, 2009 13:27

    not only for poison_key !

    I love your children books recommendations. Last time it was “the City of dreaming books” and I haven’t recovered from my reading yet !

  4. poison_key permalink
    January 16, 2009 20:34

    Shame on you! I went to waterstones to buy it, and of course I could not resist to the lure of the books and I spent too much money!! No money put aside at all this month for japan, and barely enough to last until the end of the month ;_;
    And I had been such a good girl not buying (too many) books in the last few months…ALL YOUR FAULT!

    PS: I have not started it yet, I do hope it will be great

  5. dohrnaira permalink*
    January 16, 2009 20:45

    @ Tsubame : Well, I’m honored, thank you.
    And it’s true, it’s a very gripping and powerful book too… now I want to read it again and the only copy I have is in German… I hate you 😀

  6. dohrnaira permalink*
    January 16, 2009 20:54

    @poison_key : HAHAHAHAHA ! You’re such an addict… I don’t feel guilty, you would have snapped sooner or later 😀

  7. January 20, 2009 01:12

    I just recently finished reading this myself. I agree…the English really do know how to write a good children’s book.

  8. dohrnaira permalink*
    January 20, 2009 12:27

    I wonder what makes them so good…
    I just finished Twilight and I like your review… It is bad.
    By the way, in case your list isn’t up to date on your blog, you should read Neverwhere, still my favorite Gaiman.

  9. January 21, 2009 13:22

    I wonder how they do that, I’ve never seen a real english child. I mean, acting like a child, and looking like a child, they all look english. Eerk.

Trackbacks

  1. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman | Books of Mee

Leave a Reply

